Initial alignment with image target

Hello everyone, I am new to WebAR and have the following issue:

I am trying to create an AR add-on for a commercial that sets the initial alignment of my scene based on an image target, but then keeps the scene alignment with world effects once the image target disappears (once the ad is over). Unfortunately, I have very minimal previous knowledge and so far couldn’t piece a solution together from the documentation.

So far I couldn’t find any similar approaches online, which lead me here.

Any help or resources I can use to learn are appreciated!

Hey Marcel,

This project seems like it does what you’re looking for: Image Target SLAM Model (A-Frame). It sets the initial alignment with an image target and continues using world effects after the target disappears.

If you’re new to 8th Wall, this example is probably the easiest to start with. While VPS could work depending on your scenario, this approach should help you get started quickly.

1 Like

Hi George! Thank you so much for your response! I‘ll try it first thing tomorrow!

1 Like

Unfortunately, I am still running into many problems with alignment and overall tracking.

When testing the target itself the object position and alignment work very well, but in practice, the object loses its tracking a lot or does not align with the target in the first place.

I’ve considered looking into VPS for specific outdoor use cases, but the experience is intended to work in any living room essentially, which rules that out too.

Is there any example project that aligns the object similar to the bounding box used in target testing that also uses SLAM I could refer to?

I’d take a look at our video here that outlines some best practices when working with image targets. Feel free to share your image target, and I can take a closer look to highlight any potential issues that might be affecting performance.